Happy New Year

I’m am going to try and craft something for fun at least once a fortnight this year.

I started on New Years Day with the bracelet below. I wanted to make something using beads and findings I already had, with a fairly simple tutorial and no need for flames or getting the resin boards out. I also wanted to make something just for me.fthwrap5

A tutorial for the bracelet had been posted in Beads and Beyond magazine and it seems a fairly simple thing to do.

After much cursing and tangled thread I got the hang of it (eventually).

fthwrap3The beads are 4mm teal glass beads from Beads Unlimited, the pale green ones are 3mm glass beads from my stash. The nymo was from Hobbycraft and the 1mm silver leather was from Jillybeads (I bought it for a project I never did about 5 years ago).

fthwrap1.psdThe copper two-hole button I made myself from some copper scrap using my disc cutter and Dremel to pop a couple of holes in. I really like the copper buttons so I think I’m going to make some more and I’ll sell them in my store.

The finished bracelet is surprisingly light and sits well on my wrist. I’m going to make a few more and stack them I think. I’ve got some copper cogs I’ve never used which I may turn into the ‘buttons’ for my next one.

Aside | This entry was posted in beading, Crafty. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

