Veggie 2013: week 9

Well, even with all the rain the veggie patch is growing away. You can almost see the tomato plants growing before your eyes. They’ve gone four inches in the last two days, amazing what a bit of sunshine can do.

Here’s what’s going on in the garden this week:

little broccoli seedlings. The small child planted all the seeds into two pots so I probably should start thinning them out. Must read up on that.

little broccoli seedlings. The small child planted all the seeds into two pots so I probably should start thinning them out. Must read up on that.

Tomatoes.  They live outside during the day now that they are flowering, in the hope that they get pollinated. (I wonder if you can hand pollinate them)

Tomatoes.
They live outside during the day now that they are flowering, in the hope that they get pollinated.
(I wonder if you can hand pollinate them)

Peas. I'm finding the bottle tops are slowig down the slugs and snails - although not stopping them. The ones with the copper tape around them are showing very little damage at all.

Peas.
I’m finding the bottle tops are slowing down the slugs and snails – although not stopping them. The ones with the copper tape around them are showing very little damage at all.

So I’m putting the bottle tops down as a cautious win. It takes the slugs and snails too long to navigate so they just go for the plants that aren’t protected. They’re not eating any of the weeds though. That’s annoying.

(clockwise from top left): Garlic Lettuce and rocket Giant Rhubarb (this is where I release the snails I find in the veggie patch) carrots (hopefully)

(clockwise from top left):
Garlic
Lettuce and rocket
Giant Rhubarb (this is where I release the snails I find in the veggie patch)
carrots (hopefully)

Baby plums. These are currently the size of my smallest fingernail. ONe of my two plum trees are full of tiny plums, the other has 4 on it. It didn;t even flower this year, so I'm surprised there were any at all.

Baby plums. These are currently the size of my smallest fingernail. One of my two plum trees is full of tiny plums, the other has 4 on it. It didn’t even flower this year, so I’m surprised there were any at all.

Baby sunflower. Need to get a bunch of these planted in case of zombie attack. ;)

Baby sunflower. Need to get a bunch of these planted in case of zombie attack. 😉

The enemy. He'd happily munched on a bean sprout and was wondering back over the wall all pleased with himself.

The enemy. He’d happily munched on a bean sprout and was wondering back over the wall all pleased with himself.

A tiny little bean sprout. I honestly thought they weren't going to grow, what with all the rain saturating the veggie patch.

A tiny little bean sprout. I honestly thought they weren’t going to grow, what with all the rain saturating the veggie patch. I’ve got four of these growing at the moment. At night I’m going to have to cover them up with bottles with the bottom cut off them to protect them from the slugs.

This entry was posted in gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

