And now for the funny-shaped veg…

Today we harvested our carrots. Not a straight one in the bunch. We got a great crop but as you can see they’re not the sort of carrots you’d expect to see in your local supermarket.

What????

What????

what????

what????

A puzzle carrot, that slots together perfectly. Fun for all the family

A puzzle carrot, that slots together perfectly. Fun for all the family

Curly carrots, perfect accompaniment to curly fries.

Curly carrots, perfect accompaniment to curly fries.

Obligatory carrot with naughty bits

Obligatory carrot with naughty bits

The 3yo wanted to know why they didn’t look anything like the carrots in the fridge and to be honest I have no idea. Did I not water them enough? Or too much?

I think there was definitely too many carrots planted together, but the 3yo did the sowing and she sprinkled them everywhere but that doesn’t explain why the single ones were so curly too.

However, they are by far my favourite thing I’ve grown this year!

All I need now is a veggie competition locally that I can submit them too.

This entry was posted in gardening, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And now for the funny-shaped veg…

  1. KidazzleInk says:

    That is just so funny…Aren’t they gorgeous. I’m glad I don’t have to peel them though! I believe carrots need deep soil without rocks and other objects in the way that can hinder their ability to drive their main tap root deep into the soil. Maybe in this case their were some rocks or other things in their road. Just guessing. Thanks for sharing. I had a wonderful little chuckle.

Leave a Reply

