Creating with Cabochons – REVEAL

For the last few weeks I’ve been taking part in The Studio Sublime’s Creating with Cabochons.  Mostly because it gave me the perfect excuse to learn yet another beading skill, this time bead stitching and in particular the even count peyote stitch.

This is my Cab. It's square fused glass with dichroic accents (that I made myself back inthe days before a small child when I could actually use my kiln)

This is my Cab. It’s square fused glass with dichroic accents (that I made myself back inthe days before a small child when I could actually use my kiln)

First row of beads, looking good.

First row of beads, looking good.

Second row of beads, finding it difficult to keep a good tension.

Second row of beads, finding it difficult to keep a good tension.

Third row. It's starting to come together now.

Third row. It’s starting to come together now.

withthe final accent beads to help hold it in place.

with the final accent beads to help hold it in place.

Annoyingly, I forgot to take a photo of the finished piece with the beaded bail. What a fool of a Took.

If you want to have a go, the tutorials are [here]

Things I’ve learnt from this:
Use good quality seed beads. Mine were cheap and were all different sizes which caused me so many problems getting the beads to line up.
Always have spare beading needles
Try not to sew through the thread in the beads, because that causes only grief if you have to unpick your stitches.

Now you’ve seen my attempt at a bead stitched pendant, why not go and check out the other participants, who made much more impressive pendants!



Quote | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Creating with Cabochons – REVEAL

  1. Paula Kramer says:

    Very pretty – and thanks for the photos showing your progress. I like working with dichroic cabs as well, they seem to reflect the surround beads so nicely!

  2. Haha! Your tips were SPOT on!!! And your comments for each phase (first row…) were exactly what I was saying, too! After the second row, I was convinced it was wrong and wanted to throw it out! Pretty piece og glass you used, would love to see the completed piece!

  3. lilisgems says:

    Lovely! Great colors.

  4. Great tips, and very pretty cab – maybe you can post a photo of the finished piece! Would love to see it!

  5. jlwoolverton says:

    Love the colour of your piece!

  6. beadlove says:

    Loved reading about your process. It’s great to see your work come together stitch by stitch and learn along the way.

  7. Karin G says:

    I love learning new techniques and you did really well with that!

    • julesha says:

      Thank you, I don’t think I was too shabby for a first attempt. Of course now I want to learn more seed beading – and there’s only so many hours in the day.

  8. Tracy says:

    I love that you showed your work-in-progress photos and the cabochon you were working with is stunning. It’s great to learn new techniques isn’t it?

  9. Veralynne says:

    Excellent work. I too had a time starting out. Which I had taken pics of the steps. Didn’t think about it. Love the colors!

    • julesha says:

      When I’m learning something, i’ve learnt to take lots of photos so if it does go wrong I can flick back through my steps and try and figure out where I made a mistake. I did it a lot when i was glass fusing!

  10. What a beautiful piece and I love the finished look! Thanks for showing photos of each stage. I don’t work with seed beads myself, so it’s very interesting to see these steps in progress, enlarged, and up close! The lessons learned section was enlightening too! I really appreciated this blog entry start to finish!

  11. Therese says:

    Beautiful you did a very nice job of beading around the glass cab that you fused. I know what you mean about cheap seed beads, but the more you get into bead weaving the more you will learn about them. I like to use Toho or Miuki they seem to be the best as far as uniformity.

  12. Sally Russick says:

    Julia, you did a FANTASTIC job conquering the beaded bezel! Beautifully done!

    Love the comments under the photos! Thank you so much for participating in the challenge!!

    • julesha says:

      Thank you for an ace challenge, it was a pleasure to participate in! And you’ve got me started on another new hobby (as if the clay, resn, fusing, silversmithing and everything else wasn’t enough)!

  13. Ginger B. says:

    Sorry not to see the finished piece, but loved your garden photos further down your blog. If you try again try delica seed beads they are good about all being the same size.

  14. Your cab is wonderful. The black bezel suits it well. I like the progress photos.

  15. Liz says:

    The cab you started with was so pretty, and I have to say you made it even nicer. I know it can get frustrating but sometimes you just have to soldier on (like you did) and trust it will turn out. Yours turned out great! I hope you have the time to get the kiln out, make more cabs, and give it another go 🙂

    Your post about the carrots cracked me up. Maybe your loose soil was not deep enough for them to grow straight down? Anyway, who cares! Anybody can go get straight carrots. Yours were actually small works of art.

  16. Wonky beads are a pet peeve of mine. You are right in your assessment about beads needing to be uniform in shape. But what I see so far is good, and the beads match the cab. I forgot to take progress photos.

Leave a Reply

